Archive 27/02/2024.

Low code evolves and outmaneuvers “high code”

jesper

Hey,

My name is @jesper. I work in the IT services industry, as Senior Test manager primarily for the enterprise and public sectors. My specialties are RPA, SME-based testing and test strategies.

I have been following the works of Simon since 2012 incl. the original blogposts. I have recently started mapping test strategies, and see a huge potential and I’m experimenting, as it is novel. :wink:

Recently I have created this map:

It shows that: Low code automation tools (RPA) builds on responsive web apps to deliver more user visible services. The current stage is emerging. Also it competes with “high code”.

If I had run business in this field, I would do focus innovation on low code/no code tools for fast customer visible automation efforts.

I would like to discuss this map.

Best regards,
@jesper

chris.daniel

Hi @jesper,

thanks for this article. Have you had a chance to think about future effects of low code and whether there is a chance that Jevons will kick in and support creating tons of difficult to maintain solutions?

rsinnema1

Your map shows a single “Business Need”. I think there are different types of business needs, some of which can easily be met by low code systems, where others (currently) can only be met by “high” code systems.

The software development industry has a long and troubled history proclaiming the end of programming as we know it. Call me skeptical.

john.grant

I agree. Low code will always be domain specific. Domain specific languages will be increasingly useful, but third-generation programming languages (3GL) provide the requisite variety to design and implement novel solutions.

jesper

Hi Chris,

Well spotted! Jevons Paradox kicks in indeed!