Archive 27/02/2024.

First attempt at using wardley maps for my own use case for a customer

kimsia

Hey,

I saw Create a map and win free entry to MapCamp this fall and so I am creating this.

My name is KimSia, Sim. I work in the enterprise software industry, and I have created this map:

WMap%20for%20DataFlow%20in%20E

It shows that:

• certain user needs are actually subordinate to other user needs hence having a high chance to be automated (e.g. create delivery order correctly in light green)
  • report generation currently is done in a custom way using Excel on highly repetitive data hence allowing a way for automation to take over and move to (Product / Commodity)
  • Since communication between users are handled by existing systems such as Email, there’s little value to be had by adding those features.

If I had a business in this field, I would do:

• intermediate between users and the various systems containing the data that’s required by:
    1. pulling and sending data to the various systems in an automated fashion (APIs, or mock manual user input)
    2. allow users to build custom reports they need (thereby providing greater value to users and entrenching into the users’ value chain)
  • increase entrenchment of usage by:
    1. building automated features that are required but currently handled manually (such as the generate delivery order)
    2. build features that are required and currently satisfied in the Genesis and Custom categories to move those activities into the Product/Commodity categories

Optionally, I have the following interesting insights.

1. While doing this map, I feel that there is a need to allow hierarchical (nested) maps as a feature of Wardley mapping
  2. and I actually find the use of the whiteboard canvas to be helpful by breaking down multiple steps in terms of clarifying users and user activities.

I would like to discuss this map.

Best regards,
KimSia

bemosior